The UK higher education sector

UK higher education consists of over 450 institutions across the four nations: England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland. While each nation controls its own policies and systems for quality and regulation, and has its own funding/regulatory oversight body, we share underpinning principles which give rise to a common approach on the expectations for quality and standards for all UK higher education courses. These principles are:

  • Delivering a high-quality academic experience
  • Providing excellent learning and teaching
  • Supporting student participation in quality
  • Encouraging student engagement
  • Maintaining high quality academic standards
  • Promoting international recognition

The bodies that oversee higher education in the four nations of the UK are developing a joint statement setting out how quality and standards are regulated in UK higher education, including for courses delivered outside the UK.

The statement was produced for the benefit of organisations which engage with UK higher education around the world, including quality assurance agencies and regulators in countries where UK higher education institutions offer transnational education (TNE) provision.

UKSCQA UK-wide statement May 2023